xThis is staging just to let you know
Sign In

Artists' Fellowships


For the past 30 years, NYFA has awarded Artists' Fellowships of $7,000 to individual originating artists living in New York State and/or Indian Nations located in New York State.

NYFA is committed to supporting artists from diverse cultural backgrounds at all stages of their professional careers. In 2015, NYFA awarded 91 grants to 95 awardees with 4 collaborations totaling an amount of $642,000.

Artists' Fellowships, awarded in fifteen different disciplines over a three-year period are $7,000 cash awards made to individual originating artists living and working in the state of New York for unrestricted use. Artists’ Fellowships are not project grants but are intended to fund an artist’s vision or voice, regardless of the level of his or her artistic development.

NYFA's Artists' Fellowships are administered with leadership support from the New York State Council on the Arts, a State agency.


The application for the 2015-2016 award cycle is now closed.

Applicants will be notified in summer 2016.


  • Architecture/Environmental Structures/Design
  • Choreography
  • Music/Sound
  • Photography
  • Playwriting/Screenwriting

The deadline was:

Thursday, January 28, 2016 at 11:59 PM (EST)



Amy Brill (Kings)
Bill Cheng (Kings)
Roohi Choudhry (Kings)**
Liana Finck (Kings)
Kim Coleman Foote (Kings)
Hilary Leichter (Kings)
Patricia Horvath (New York)
Tama Janowitz (Schuyler)
Jon Lewis-Katz (Bronx)
Danielle Lazarin (New York)
Janet McNally (Erie)
Danica Novgorodoff (Kings)
Rajesh Parameswaran (Kings)
Alanna Schubach (New York)
Edward Schwarzschild (Albany)
Pitchaya Sudbanthad (Kings)
Xuan Wang (New York)
Adrianne Wortzel (New York)

Kanishk Tharoor (New York)
Mark Binelli (New York)
Shelly Oria (Kings)

Denise Burrell-Stinson (New York)
Minju Pak (Kings)
Robert Proehl (Tompkins)
Ronna Wineberg (New York)
Susan Karwoska (Kings)

Folk/Traditional Arts

Annie Ferdous (Kings)
Peniel Guerrier (Queens)
Juan Gutiérrez Rodríguez (New York)
Carrie Hill (Franklin)
Andriy Milavsky (Ulster)
Aeilushi Mistry (Kings)**
Biboti Ouikahilo (Onondaga)
Mary Tooley Parker (Westchester)
Eva Salina (Kings)
Andy Statman (Kings)
Michael Winograd (New York)

Zhong-hua Lu (Rensselaer)
Camille Yeung (Dutchess)
Benjamin Rosen (New York)

Emily Socolov (Sullivan)
Julia Gutiérrez-Rivera (Bronx)
Luz Pereira (New York)
Mark Miyake (Westchester)

Interdisciplinary Work

Nobutaka Aozaki (Queens)**
Brandon Ballengée (Kings)
Daniel Bejar (Kings)
Robert Boyd (Kings)
Jonathan Cohrs (Kings)
Adam Frelin (Rensselaer)
Ellie Irons (Kings)
Larry Krone (New York)
Molly Lowe (New York)
Heidi Neilson (Queens)
Zoe Sheehan (Kings)
Wenhua Shi (Madison)
aricoco (Ari Tabei) (Kings)
Jaimie Warren (Kings)
Lily & Honglei (Queens)*
Seldon Yuan (Kings)

Joe Nanashe (Queens)
Mira Hunter (Kings)
Justin Rancourt / Charles Yatsuk (Kings)*

Michael Asbill (Ulster)
Millie Chen (Erie)

Panelists cont.
Nancy Davidson (New York)
Joseph Keckler (Kings)
Matthew Northridge (Kings)


Louise Belcourt (Kings)
Katie Bell (Kings)***
Matt Bollinger (Kings)
Patrick Brennan (Kings)
Andrew Brischler (Kings)
Michael Cloud (Kings)
Paul DeMuro (Kings)
Erik den Breejen (Kings)
Ariel Dill (New York)
Franklin Evans (New York)
Angelina Gualdoni (Kings)
Elisa Jensen (Kings)
Jenny Kemp (Rensselaer)
Maia Cruz Palileo (Kings)
Jenna Ransom (Kings)
Eleanor Ray (Kings)
Robert Salmieri (Kings)
Christopher Schade (Kings)
Zoe Schade (Kings)
Laura Shechter (Kings)
Adam Parker Smith (Kings)
Jansson Stegner (Queens)****
Joy Taylor (Dutchess)
Melissa Thorne (Rensselaer)
Adrian Tone (Kings)
Frank Webster New York)
Randy Wray (Kings)
Chris Wright (Kings)
Mie Yim (New York)

Doron Langberg (New York)
Naomi Reis (Kings)
Jamie Sneider (New York)

Mariella Bisson (Ulster)
Maya Brym (Kings)
Vince Contarino (Kings)
Jane Fine (Kings)
Wendy White (New York)


Emily Abt (Kings)
Justin Ambrosino (Richmond)**
Ronald Amstutz (New York)
Zia Anger (Columbia)
Keith Bearden (Queens)
Rosane Chamecki / Andrea Lerner (New York)*
Ariana Gerstein (Broome)
Charlotte Glynn (Kings)
Claudia Joskowicz (Kings)
Kalup Linzy (Kings)
Yuanchen Liu (Queens)
Monteith McCollum (Broome)
Serra MM / Josh Lewis (New York)*
Moon Molson (New York)
Marija Stojnic (New York)
Eve Sussman / Simon Lee (Kings)*
Jeremy Xido (New York)

Mores McWreath (Kings)
Jennifer Nuss (New York)
Ezra Wube (Kings)

Tara Autovino (Kings)
Todd Chandler (Kings)
Phillip Hastings (Chautauqua)
Orit Ben-Shitrit (Kings)
Jacqueline Tarry (Kings)

*  Collaborating Fellows
** The Gregory Millard Fellowships were established by the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in 1984 in memory of poet and playwright Gregory Millard. As Assistant Commissioner of Cultural Affairs from 1978 until his death in 1984, Mr. Millard championed the cause of individual artists. Recipients are New York City residents chosen in several categories from those recommended by the various panels.
Gregory Millard Fellows: Aeilushi Mistry (Folk/Traditional Arts), Roohi Choudhry (Fiction), Justin Ambrosino (Video/Film), Nobutaka Aozaki (Interdisciplinary Work)
***The Lily Auchincloss Foundation Fellow: Katie Bell (Painting)
****Deutsche Bank Americas Foundation Fellow: Jansson Stegner (Painting)



Applications for the 2016-17 award cycle will open in Fall 2016. The following categories will be reviewed:

  • Crafts/Sculpture
  • Printmaking/Drawing/Book Arts
  • Nonfiction Literature
  • Poetry
  • Digital/Electronic Arts


Applications for the 2017-18 award cycle will open in Fall 2017. The following categories will be reviewed:

  • Fiction
  • Folk/Traditional Arts
  • Interdisciplinary Work
  • Painting
  • Video/Film
  • The Basil H. Alkazzi Award for Excellence, in painting


Desirée Alvarez (Poetry)

Orit Ben-Shitrit (Video/Film)

Mari Jaye Blanchard (Video/Film)

Niki Berg (Photography)

Geoff Chadsey (Printmaking/Drawing/Book Arts)

Vince Contarino (Painting)

Daniel Thomas Davis (Music/Sound)

Ella Gant (Digital/Electronic Arts)

Ariana Gerstein (Digital/Electronic Arts)

Kate Gilmore (Interdisciplinary Work)

DeWitt Godfrey (Architecture/Environmental Structures/Design)

Diana Al-Hadid (Crafts/Sculpture)

Amina Henry (Playwriting/Screenwriting)

Susan Karwoska (Fiction)

Joseph Keckler (Interdisciplinary Work)

Amanda Schachter (Architecture/Environmental Structures/Design)

Gwen Welliver (Choreography)

Trustee Liaisons to the Advisory Committee:
Carmelita Tropicana
Dread Scott


NYFA's Artists' Fellowships are administered with leadership support from the New York State Council on the Arts, a State agency.

Major funding is also provided by the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs.

Additional funding was provided by the Lily Auchincloss Foundation, the Milton & Sally Avery Arts Foundation, Deutsche Bank Americas Foundation, and individual donors.

You can join NYFA's generous benefactors in helping artists. Visit our Support pages to learn more about the impact of your gift.

The NYFA Advisory Committee, appointed by NYFA's Board of Trustees, is an ethnically and geographically diverse group of professional New York State artists who represent all the disciplines in which Fellowships are awarded. The Advisory Committee determines policy and procedures for Artists' Fellowships but does not make decisions on individual applicants. The above list represents the Committee roster in 2015-16.

Homepage Slider: Angelina Gualdoni (Fellow in Paintint '08), Transference in Aurora, Illinois, 2004, Acrylic and oil on canvas