Sign In for NYFA Fiscally Sponsored Artists or Advertisers:
User Name and/or Password incorrect


Canadian Women Artists' Award

Home > Awards and Grants > Canadian Women Artists' Award

The Canadian Women Artists’ Award is open to emerging or early career artists in New York State.

The $5,000 award is designed to provide financial support to an emerging or early career artist working in any discipline, and can be used in any manner the recipient deems necessary to further their artistic goals. It is supported by funding granted to NYFA by the Canadian Women's Club (CWC) of New York as a way to continue its philanthropic work when it disbanded.


The Canadian Women Artists’ Award is open to women artists who meet the following requirements:

  • Must be a Canadian citizen, and able to provide proof of citizenship with legal documentation upon receipt of the award.
  • Must be between the ages of 21 and 35 before the application deadline.
  • Must be a current resident of New York State.
  • Must apply in only one of the eligible discipline categories.
  • Must be the originators of the work, i.e. choreographers or playwrights; not awarded to interpretative artists such as dancers or actors.
  • Must not be a previous recipient of the Canadian Women Artists’ Award.
  • Must not be a NYFA employee, member of the NYFA Board of Trustees or Artists' Advisory Committee, and/or an immediate family member of any of the previous.

Students in bachelor’s or master’s degree programs are eligible to apply.

AWARD CYCLE 2019-2020

The application for the 2019-2020 award cycle is now closed. NYFA will announce the award winner on August 27, 2019. Please click here for full application guidelines.

Canadian Women Artists' Award Categories

  • Architecture/Environmental Structures/Design
  • Choreography
  • Crafts/Sculpture
  • Digital/Electronic Arts
  • Fiction
  • Folk/Traditional Arts
  • Interdisciplinary Work
  • Music/Sound
  • Nonfiction Literature
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Playwriting/Screenwriting
  • Poetry
  • Printmaking/Drawing/Book Arts
  • Video/Film

2018 Canadian Women Artists' Award Winner

Filmmaker Émilie Martel was named the 2018 recipient of the Canadian Women Artists' Award. Martel is a New York City-based filmmaker from Ottawa who has spent years producing, filming, and editing short web content for media organizations worldwide.

Martel is currently directing and producing Uproot, a documentary about one man’s mission to save endangered primates in Ecuador’s Yasuni National Park, one of the world’s last high biodiversity areas. Alongside Uproot, Martel is developing a wide range of unscripted and documentary series, and writing an animated feature film about a Capuchin monkey’s journey in an exploited Amazon. Martel recently launched her production company Kannon Films.

Image Credit: Naomi Harris (NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellow in Photography '13); Self Portrait with Mum/Fantasy Land Hotel, West Edmonton Mall, Alberta, 2011, C-Print

Back to top