Fellows at 30: NYFA Collection: Vol. Two is released

Fellows at 30: NYFA Collection: Vol. Two is released

The NYFA Collection: Volume Two celebrates the 30th Anniversary of NYFA’s Artists’ Fellowship Program

The NYFA Collection: Volume Two continues the archiving and dissemination of the New York music collection, which began with The NYFA Collection: 25 Years of New York New Music—a collection DownBeat called a, “stunning document of historic culture.” Volume Two celebrates the 30th Anniversary of NYFA’s Artists’ Fellowship Program by releasing ten tracks created/composed by the most recent class of Music and Sound Fellows. The recording has been curated by Cristian Amigo (composer-in-residence, INTAR Theater) and innova’s Philip Blackburn from work submitted by the composers themselves.

The follow-up to 2010’s critically acclaimed NYFA Collection, The NYFA Collection: Volume Two collects works by the 2013 Music and Sound Fellows and presents a staggeringly broad swath of sonic territory: Fellini-esque circus music, a meditation on the exile of immigration status, guitar stabs and accordion solos, abstract jazz and new music piano, pop references, odes to molars and a bad storm, are just some of the paths explored by this diverse group of artists.

The physical CD is available for purchase online here or buy the digital album here.

NYFA will be celebrating the launch of The NYFA Collection: Volume Two with an event on Friday December 11, 2015 at 8 PM. Find more details about the launch event here. 

The collection includes the following track by NYFA Fellows in Music/Sound ‘13:
1. Khartes 4
Laura Andel
Laura Andel Orchestra: Elliott Sharp, electric guitar; Daniel Binelli, bandoneon; Carl Maguire, Fender Rhodes, Andrew Drury, drums; Laura Andel, conductor

2. La Cigale
Sylvie Courvoisier

Sylvie Courvoisier TRIO
Sylvie Courvoisier, piano, composition; Drew Gress, bass; Julian Sartorius, drums

3. March
Frank Carlberg

Frank Carlberg Big Band; Solos, Gerard Kleijn, Vincent Veneman

4. The Broken Branch Rag (2010)
John Bacon

The SUNY Fredonia Percussion Ensemble, Dr. Karolyn Stonefelt, director; Alec Dube, Juan Herrera, Kyle Scudder, percussion

5. Ode to Number 14
Mihoko Suzuki

Mihoko Suzuki, Hiroko Suzuki, piano

6. Berl Isaac
Sholem Aleichem/Jack Newman/Ben Gerstein
Ben Gerstein, trombone; Jack Newman, voice

7. What’s Your Status? (a YO MISS! story)
Judith Sloan

Vocals written, performed, arranged and produced by Judith Sloan. Music composed, produced, and performed by Taylor Rivelli.

8. Tattoo
Svjetlana Bukvich

from Interior Designs
Kamala Sankaram, soprano Svjetlana Bukvich, piano, synthesizers

9. Sabbath Lily 1st Song
Anthony Gatto

Holly Hansen, vocals; Adam Meckler Orchestra conducted by David Bloom

10. We Were All
Yotam Haber

Contemporaneous: David Bloom, conductor

Image credit: CD Artwork by Orit Ben-Shitrit (Fellow in Video/Film ‘12)

Amy Aronoff
Posted on:
Post author