2022 Recipients

The Anonymous Was A Woman Environmental Art Grants program provides up to $20,000 for projects led by women-identifying artists in the United States and U.S. territories.

In 2022, the program awarded $250,000 in funding to artists from states and territories including California, Kansas, Louisiana, New York, Puerto Rico (Borikén), and Texas. Below is a list of the 2022 AWAW EAG recipients and the projects that were funded.

Please click here for our full recipients announcement, which includes short descriptions on each project.


Amara Abdal Figueroa, Tierrafiltra, Puerto Rico (Borikén) 

Erika Bolstad, SUBSURFACE, Oregon

Kaitlin Bryson, Bellow Forth, New Mexico

paris cyan cian with theShoreCo.’s Cameron Mitchell Ware and jeremy de’jonmodjeskamodjeskamodjeska, Louisiana

Maru GarciaSelf Help Graphics, and the Natural History Museum of Los Angeles CountyProspering backyards; California

Michelle GlassWE ARE HERE/ESTAMOS AQUICalifornia

Nansi Guevara and Monica Sosa, The Magic Valley y Nuestra Delta Magica : settler imaginaries and community resistance, Texas

Autumn Leiker, Into the Unknown Together, New Mexico 

Shanjana Mahmud and Luke Eddins, Winter Species, New York

Cyan Meeks and Susan MayoFlint Hills Counterpoint, Kansas

Jan Mun, The Fairy Rings, New York

Júlia PontésEnv-IRON-ment, New York

Mary SwanderThe SquattersIowa

Ixchel Tonāntzin XōchitlzihuatlBorders Like Water, Texas

Image Detail: paris cyan cian with theShoreCo.’s Cameron Mitchell Ware and jeremy de’jon (AWAW EAG ’22), modjeskamodjeskamodjeska, 2023, fernando lopez