Call for Artists: NYFA Fellowships in Playwriting / Screenwriting

Call for Artists: NYFA Fellowships in Playwriting / Screenwriting

We’re looking for New York State-based playwrights and screenwriters 

One of this year’s NYFA Artists’ Fellowships categories is playwriting/screenwriting. Works in the writing of stage plays, screenplays, teleplays, libretti, radio plays, and audio dramas are all accepted.

Applicants should apply with 20 pages from a script that best represents their current work.

Deadline: Thursday, January 28, 2016 at 11:59PM

For a full list of application requirements please visit the application site:

“The NYFA Fellowship gave me the freedom to read and think for entire, uninterrupted days about what kind of play I would next write – my second play…Angels in America. This grant was the very first time my work was officially recognized, and I remember very vividly the heady thrill of it, the thunderstruck moment of thinking ‘wow, maybe I can actually do this, be a professional playwright’”
Tony Kushner (Fellow in Playwriting/Screenwriting ‘87) and Pulitzer Prize winning author of “Angels in America: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes” (‘93).

Join the ranks of these NYFA Playwriting/Screenwriting Alumni:

  • Donald Margulies (Fellow ‘88) and Pulitzer Prize winning author of Dinner with Friends (‘00)
  • Lynn Nottage (Fellow ‘94, ‘00) and Pulitzer Prize winning author of Ruined (‘09)
  • Suzan-Lori Parks (Fellow ‘90) and Pulitzer Prize winning author of Topdog/Underdog (‘02)
  • David Henry Hwang (Fellow ‘85) and Tony Award winning author of M.Butterfly (‘88)
  • Lisa Kron (Fellow ‘94) and two-time Tony Award winner for Fun Home (‘15)
  • Branden Jacob Jenkins (Fellow ‘10) and OBIE award winning author of Appropriate (‘14) and An Octoroon (‘15)
  • Young Jean Lee (Fellow ‘10) two-time OBIE award winning author of Straight White Men (‘15)
  • Anne Washburn (Fellow ‘10) and Drama League Award winning author of Mr Burns. A Post-Electric Play (‘12)
  • Kristoffer Diaz (Fellow ‘12) and Pulitzer Prize nominated author of The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity (‘09)

Email [email protected] for any questions. 

Artists’ Fellowships, awarded in fifteen different disciplines over a three-year period are $7,000 cash awards made to individual originating artists living and working in the state of New York for unrestricted use. Artists’ Fellowships are not project grants but are intended to fund an artist’s vision or voice, regardless of the level of his or her artistic development.

NYFA’s Artists’ Fellowships are administered with leadership support from the New York State Council on the Arts, a State agency.

Image credit: Matt Marello (Fellow in Printmaking / Drawing / Book Arts ‘14), Notebook Room, Material: Books, bookstand, photocopies, 2012

Amy Aronoff
Posted on:
Post author