NYFA Proudly Announces the 2014 Artists’ Fellowships Awardees

NYFA Proudly Announces the 2014 Artists’ Fellowships Awardees

The New York Foundation for the
Arts (NYFA) has announced the recipients and finalists of its Artists’
Fellowship Program. The organization has awarded a total of $630,000 to
93 artists (including three collaborations) throughout New York State in the
following disciplines: crafts/sculpture; digital/electronic art; non-fiction
literature; poetry, and printmaking/drawing/artist books.   Fifteen
finalists (three per discipline), who do not receive a cash award, but benefit
from myriad other NYFA services, were also announced.  A complete list of
the Fellows and finalists follows. 

Now in its 29th year,
the Artists’ Fellowship Program makes unrestricted cash grants of $7,000 to
artists working in 15 disciplines, five per year on a triennial basis. The
program is highly competitive and this year’s recipients and finalists were
selected by discipline specific peer panels from an applicant pool of
4,117.  Since it was launched in 1985, the program has awarded over
$27million to more than 4,000 artists. 

“We are so grateful to our
partners at the New York State Council on the Arts, which provides leadership
support for this program, as well as our other funders, for giving us the means
to recognize the extraordinary breadth of artistic talent throughout the state,”
said NYFA Executive Director Michael L. Royce.  “Because they are
unrestricted, these grants give artists the gift of time and allow them to
complete projects, experiment with new forms and materials and create the work
which transforms all our lives.” 

This sentiment was affirmed by
Brooklyn-based Non-Fiction Literature Fellow Coco Fusco, who commented, “[t]his
fellowship comes at a perfect time, and will allow me to continue working on
texts that are vital to me but have little to do with the commercial side of
arts. I am proud and happy to find myself among the NYFA Fellowship award

thought was seconded by Gregory T. Skochko, from Albany, “I am absolutely
thrilled to have been chosen by NYFA as a fellowship recipient in Sculpture. It
is an honor to be recognized by a jury of my fellow New York State artists for
the work with which I am so excited to be making. The recognition and award
will allow me to continue with current projects, and to explore materials and
ideas that I could only dream of before." 

Peter Beasecker (Madison)
Charlotte Becket (Kings)
Anna Betbeze (New York)
Amy Brener (Kings)
Kate Clark (Kings)
Mikhail Gubin (Queens)
Yoko Inoue (Kings)
Cal Lane (Putnam)
Harry Leigh (Rockland)
Norman Magnusson (New York)
Amanda C. Mathis (Kings)
Walter McConnell (Allegany)
Ian McMahon (Steuben)
Myra Mimlitsch-Gray (Ulster)
Ryan Sarah Murphy (New York)
Armita Raafat (New York)
Jessica Segall (Kings)
Michelle Segre (New York)
Gregory Skochko (Albany)
Kako Ueda (Kings)
Chris Victor (Ulster)
Jian-Jun Zhang (New York)

R.M. Fischer (New York)
Jessica Stoller (Kings)
Jane South (Kings)

Claire Watson (Suffolk)
Linda Cordell (Chautauqua)
Hiroyuki Hamada (Suffolk)
Charles McGill (Westchester)
Shari Mendelson (New York)

Digital/Electronic Arts
Aziz + Cucher (Kings)
Justin Berry (Kings)
Peter Burr (Kings)
Heather Bursch (Kings)
Blake Carrington (Kings)
Shamus Clisset (New York)
Nicholas Fraser (Kings)
Shih Chieh Huang (New York)
Adam Hurwitz (New York)
Oleg Mavromatti/Boryana Rossa (Onondaga)
Lisa Park (New York)
Laura Parnes (Kings)
Saya Woolfalk (New York)

Faith Holland (New York)
Phillip Stearns (Kings)
Katie Torn (New York)

Adam Daily (Washington)
Michael Greathouse (Kings)
Sophie Kahn (Kings)
Moo Kwon Han (New York)
Leila Christine Nadir (Madison)

Non-Fiction Literature
Colin Asher (Kings)
Jonathan Blunk (Westchester)
Cynthia Carr (New York)
Jace Clayton (Kings)
Coco Fusco (Kings)
Shahnaz Habib (New York)
Abeer Hoque (New York)
Will Hunt (Kings)
Suki Kim (New York)
Annie Lanzillotto (Westchester)
Oona Patrick (Kings)
Amanda Petrusich (Kings)
Luc Sante (Ulster)
Ned Sublette (New York)
Richard Tayson (Queens)

Ava Chin (New York)
Robin Marantz Henig (New York)
Aurvi Sharma (New York)

Vivian Heller (Dutchess)
Mary Emily O’Hara (Kings)
Catherine McKinley (NYC)
Damian Van Denburgh (New York)
Gabrielle Selz (Suffolk)

Albert Abonado (Monroe)
Rosebud Ben-oni (Queens)
Emily Blair (Kings)
Charity Coleman (New York)
John Coletti (Kings)
Corina Copp (Kings)
Amanda K. Davidson (New York)
BC Edwards (Kings)
Simone Kearney (New York)
Dawn Lundy Martin (Suffolk)
Rachel McKibbens (Monroe)
Judah Rubin (Queens)
Beth Steidle (Kings)
Stacy Szymaszek (Kings)
Vincent Toro (Bronx)
Karen Weiser (New York)
Matvei Yankelevich (Kings)

Cynthia Manick (Kings)
Idrissa Simmonds (Kings)
Michael Leong (New York)

Jose Perez Beduya (Tompkins)
Nathaniel Otting (Kings)
Marc Straus (New York)
Ellen Graf (Rensselaer)
Tonya Foster (Kings)

Printmaking/Drawing/Book Arts
Perry Angelora (Kings)
Gil Avineri (New York)
Cui Fei (New York)
Zaria Forman (Kings)
Maria Elena Gonzalez (Kings)
Linda Herritt (Kings)
George Hrycun (Allegany)
Yashua Klos (New York)
Kakyoung Lee (Kings)
Matt Marello (New York)
Gordon Moore (New York)
Andrea Moreau (Dutchess)
Anne Muntges (Erie)
Doug Navarra (Ulster)
Seamus O’Brien (Kings)
John O Connor (Westchester)
Gary Panter (Kings)
Svetlana Rabey (New York)
Patricia Smith (Kings)
Nicholas Vaughan/Jacob Margolin (Kings)
Dale Williams (Kings)
Heeseop Yoon (Kings)
Eugenia Yu (Kings)

Donald Powley (Schoharie)
Cynthia Lin (New York)
Jade Townsend (Kings)

Geoff Chadsey (Kings)
Rosemarie Fiore (Bronx)
Chris Fritton (Erie)
Takuji Hamanaka (Kings)

Click here for details about our current application cycle. 

NYFA’s Artists’ Fellowships are administered with leadership support from the New York State Council on the Arts, a State agency.

Major funding is also provided by the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs.

Additional funding was provided by the Lily Auchincloss Foundation, the Milton & Sally Avery Arts Foundation, Deutsche Bank Americas Foundation, and individual donors.

You can join NYFA’s generous benefactors in helping artists. Visit our Support pages to learn more about the impact of your gift.


Image: Kate Clark (Fellow in Crafts/Sculpture ‘14), Pray, 2012
Amy Aronoff
Posted on:
Post author